Tuesday, December 3, 2019

Review: Grown-Ups Never Do That by Davide Cali


GROWN-UPS NEVER DO THAT
by Davide Cali
Illustrated by Benjamin Chaud
Chronicle Books
Picture Book
40 pages
ages 4 to 7





Grown-ups Never Do That is a hilarious picture book about the seemingly unbelievable fact that adults, like kids, misbehave—from Davide Cali and Benjamin Chaudthe duo behind Junior Library Guild selection I Didn't Do My Homework Because . . . and A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to School!

Whether it's forgetting to do chores, running late, or burping, no adult would ever behave so poorly—at least, that's what you might think. By the end of this outrageous, laugh-out-loud picture book, you'll know better.

• An honest and hilarious reminder that we're all human—yes, even grown-ups
• Filled with expressive art and broadly accessible humor
• From celebrated author-illustrator team Davide Cali and Benjamin Chaud

Grown-ups Never Do That showcases the humor—and the humanity—of the most important people in kids' lives.

This relatable and rollicking tale will have readers between the ages 4 and 7 (and the adults that read with them) in stitches.

• A wonderful gift for teachers, librarians, and educators who want to teach that it's okay not to be perfect all the time—and that manners exist for a reason
• Perfect for parents and caregivers of reluctant readers Great for fans of Maurice Sendak and Edward Gorey, as well as reads like Do Unto Otters: A Book About Manners by Laurie Keller, Don't Let The Pigeon Drive The Bus! by Mo Willems, and Grumpy Monkey by Suzanne Lang



 MY TIDBITS

Giggles, snorts and laughter are guaranteed in this fun book, which demonstrates that adults may or may not be the best behaved people after all.

There is a message in these pages, but that isn't the point. With whimsical and quirky humor, every page rolls across with a mega-dose of humor and fun. This book takes every single one of those things kids get scolded for or reminded of and tosses the world on its head. Unfortunately, this doesn't turn into a book of fantasy but stumbles across every realistic blunder adults would rather forget they make.

The illustrations hold every bit of detail, expression and emotion to guarantee that each mishap unfolds in full glory.  And if one looks closely, there are even some interesting details. The text is kept short, only a very short sentence on each page, and that's all that it takes. The illustrations take over the rest.

Adults as well as young listeners will enjoy this one, and both will laugh. Although adults might find themselves at the receiving end as listeners are sure to remember a few 'perfect things' they might have accidentally done wrong...aehm...right.

And here they are...

The Author...
David Cali is an author, illustrator, and cartoonist, who has published more than 40 books including I Didn't Do My Homework Because..., A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to School..., The Truth About My Unbelievable Summer..., and When An Elephant Falls in Love. He lives in France and Italy.

The Illustrator...
Benjamin Chaud has illustrated more than 60 books. He is the illustrator of I Didn't Do My Homework Because..., A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to School..., and The Truth About My Unbelievable Summer.... He is the author and illustrator of New York Times Notable Book The Bear's Song, The Bear's Sea Escape, The Bear's Surprise, and Little Bear's Big House. He lives in France.

No comments:

Post a Comment