Sunday, March 22, 2020

Review: Charlie and Mouse Outdoors by Laurel Snyder


CHARLIE & MOUSE OUTDOORS
by Laurel Snyder 
Illustrated by Emily Hughes
Chronicle Books
Early Chapter Book
48 pages
ages 6 to 9



Charlie & Mouse continue their adventures in this heartwarming tale perfect for newly independent readers.

The fourth book in the Geisel Award–winning series!

Young readers will love diving into this hilarious next installment of this award-winning beginning chapter book series. This time, the two brothers and their family are off on a new adventure: going camping! Follow along as they take a long drive, have a quick hike, defeat a big lion, hide in a small tent, and conquer the great outdoors—together. There is so much fun to be had along the way—telling stories, fighting monsters, crashing their tent—but best of all is the joy of sharing it with each other.

• A perfect read-aloud book for families and siblings
• Great book for early readers advancing to more complex chapter books
• Critically acclaimed series called "top notch" by Kirkus

Fans of Mercy Watson, Ling and Ting, Elephant and Piggie books, and Cowgirl Kate and Cocoa will love Charlie and Mouse.


       



MY TIDBITS

This pair of brothers take on the adventure of camping in a way, which invites readers into the pages and is sure to leave them with a smile on their face.

Charlie and Mouse are in the car with their parents and on their way to a camping trip. Driving can be a little boring, but with a bit of imagination and hints from the surroundings, it turns out that the entire ordeal isn't boring in any way. Instead, the two find themselves facing all sorts of creatures, knocking down their tent and learning the art of roasting a marshmallow.

This is the fourth book in the Charlie & Mouse series, and I did not read the others before diving into this one. This was not a problem as each book can be read as a stand-alone.

The book is divided into four chapters, fitting right along with the four different adventures the brothers encounter. The text is just right for readers who are pretty sure of their words and ready to tackle simple chapter books on their own. To make things even easier, there is a colorful illustration on each page, which goes right along with the story.

Charlie & Mouse are great brothers. They joke around a little, fight sometimes, get scared once in awhile, but definitely love to have adventures together. While this book centers around their camping trip, it also brings along several surprises. There's never a boring moment, and it's hard to guess what will happen next. In other words, this is a nice tale first readers are sure to enjoy.


And here they are...

The Author...
Laurel Snyder is the author of many books for children. She lives and writes in a small yellow house in Atlanta, Georgia, which she shares with her husband and two sons.

The Illustrator...
Emily Hughes is an illustrator (and sometimes writer) who lives in windy Brighton, England, while thinking fondly of her hometown in Hilo, Hawaii.

No comments:

Post a Comment