Saturday, February 29, 2020

Review: Fun at the Fair by Ingela P Arrhenius



FUN AT THE FAIR
Bookscape Board Books
by Ingela P Arrhenius
Chronicle Books
Board Book
ages 0 to 3

COMING...
MARCH 10th!!!




Toddlers will love exploring all the wonders of a day at the fair in this chunky, tactile board book.

Little hands will thrill at flipping through the uniquely shaped, die-cut pages that overlap to reveal carousels, trains, rollercoasters and all the other fun-tastic sights and sounds of a bustling fairground. Delightfully petite, with light concept-based text and jubilant illustrations, Fun at the Fair is perfect for hands on play and bedtime reading alike.

• The tactile, toylike quality makes Fun at the Fair an irresistible attention-grabber for toddlers.
• Decorative and elegantly-designed, this book is ideal for both nursery display and hands-on learning.
• Lovers of Scandinavian design will love Ingela Arrhenius's beautiful, 1950s-inspired art.

Fans of City BlockMain Street Magic, and Ingela Arrhenius's Animals and Pop Up Things that Go! will love Fun at the Fair.


Pre-order directly from Chronicle Books here.

         



MY TIDBITS

This little book invites to be tugged around, flipped through again and again, and simply played with.

The small, sturdy pages in various sizes and shapes give a toy-like appearance and definitely catch the eye. The book is grip-able from all directions...just right for light fingers and hands...and has a nice, sturdy form. Thanks to the almost 3-D effect of the layered pages, it's simple to flip through, too. In other words, this may be a book, but it gives young listeners/readers the chance to feel, poke and prod.

The illustrations are bright and basic. Yet, there are still a few little details to invite into the scenes. Of course, the theme of a fair sets off a happy, excited atmosphere, and that does come across nicely as well. The basic rides of a fair are presented (train, carousel, Ferris wheel, etc.) and clear to identify.
The text is very short and direct, which works as a very quick read-aloud....great for short attention spans.

I can see little toddlers enjoying this book quite a bit, and it'd make a great bring-a-long for a small gift as well.


And here she is...

Ingela P Arrhenius is an illustrator of books and gifts. She lives in Stockholm Sweden.

No comments:

Post a Comment