Saturday, January 1, 2022

What's Coming in January?

 Happy New Year! I hope you had a chance to celebrate the slide into 2022 and are looking forward to the upcoming 365 days as much as I am.

The year starts out with a bang as a huge variety stands lined up for January. I've got a few sport books (fiction and non-fiction), tons of adventure, fantasy, sweet picture books, inspiring tales, historic novels, and mystery. And I'm probably forgetting something, too.

So, grab that calendar because this year is going to be a great one on the reading end!


URBEX

Before digging into heart filled reads with tons of emotion, depth and atmosphere, I wanted to start off on the light side. This graphic novel caught my attention. It dives into the realm of urban exploration, ghosts and mystery. Anyone else up for a little adventure, spooks and thrills. Then, join me on the 2nd!

Young Adult Paranormal / Graphic Novel

JOSEFINE

After living 20 + years in Germany, I couldn't say no to this one. It takes place...well, yeah, in Germany and focuses on a girl, who's been born into a line of witches but doesn't have powers herself. It involves vampires, magic, secrets...and we'll see what else on the 3rd.

Young Adult Fantasy

TRUSTING TRUE NORTH

Isn't the cover amazing? The author is expecting 4 releases this year! So, her name is going to be floating all over the kidlit world the next months. This one swings around themes such as plague, closed borders, maps, forests, and a girl trying to deal with it all the best she can. So, check it out with me on the 6th.

Middle Grade Contemporary



ELI AND THE MYSTERY OF THE HOLLOWSHINE DRAGON

Moon-elves, curses, dragons and friendship promise to make this a fantasy tale to get lost in. I'm looking forward to the illustrations because the cover already caught my attention. Get lost in what seems to be a magical world with me on the 8th.

Picture Book




THE VELVET FOX

This is the 2nd book in a series (which I haven't read, yet) and slides into the clockwork world. It's been awhile since I've hit this direction. So, I was thrilled to get my hands on this adventure. It involves a bewitched toy carousel and magic. I'll be taking a look at this one on the 14th.

Middle Grade Fantasy



BIZZY BEAR: TOW TRUCK DRIVER

I do enjoy a cute board book, and this one comes from a well-known and loved bear.  I have no doubt that fans will enjoy it, and hopefully, others too. Check it out with me on the 18th.


Board Book



MARCO POLO BRAVE EXPLORER

This is the second book in a series for more beginning readers. And no, I didn't read the first one, either. It's about toys, which are loaned from the library, and the kids, who borrow them. Of course, adventure ensues. Find out more on the 22nd.

Children's Adventure




DOUBLE NEGATIVE

Emotions promise to run high in tale about romance, family issues, difficult problems, and learning what's truly important. I'll be diving into this one on the 25th.


Young Adult Contemporary





THE RIVER BETWEEN HEARTS

Emotions aren't stopping, yet, it seems (tissue box, anyone?). These pages hold themes such as the loss of a family member, friendship, and finding hope. It's on the shorter end at 160 (or so) pages and has been already receiving great reviews. I'm looking at it on the 26th.

Middle Grade Contemporary




BUZZ, CROAK, HISS, AND HOOT

Nature is anything but quiet, and this book takes a look at the vast number of different sounds. The title might start with animals and creatures, but that's only the beginning, according to the blurb. Let's perk our ears on the 28th!

Picture Book









I have more than one book on my waiting list this month, but since the first one in this series hit my Favorite of 2021 list, I'm 100% going to squeeze this one in. When? Well, that's always the question.


THE WEEPING TIDE

This is the 2nd book in the Wilderlore series. I actually did read the first one, enjoyed it quite a bit, and love the idea of having the next one under the ocean. It's said to be for fans of Nevermore and How to Train Your Dragon. Who could resist something like that?


Middle Grade Fantasy



No comments:

Post a Comment