Friday, April 3, 2020

Review: Let's Learn Spanish by Aurora Cacciapuoti


LET'S LEARN SPANISH
First Words for Everyone
by Aurora Cacciapuoti
Chronicle Books
Picture Book / Languages/ NonFiction
48 pages
ages 4 and up




Accessible introduction to Spanish language and Mexican culture

Learning Spanish is just a few pictures away in this lovingly illustrated picture book language primer! Focusing on the Spanish language as it is spoken in Mexico, this informative picture book is an ideal way to learn. Pairing words and whimsical pictures, aspiring Spanish speakers are treated to a breezy yet informative experience. At once instructive and a joy to behold, Let's Learn Spanish is a go-to gift for the world traveler and language learner.

• Fantastic resource for Spanish language learners young and old!
• Perfect gift for anyone traveling to Mexico or South America.
• Aurora Cacciapuoti is an author and illustrator of more than a dozen children's books.

This informative Spanish language primer will appeal to readers of Little Concepts: ABC Spanish, First Words – Spanish, and My Big Book of Spanish Words.

      



MY TIDBITS

Little ones will enjoy diving into this small wealth of words and have fun trying out the different terms as they go along.

This book takes a first glance into the world of Spanish. The first pages are more for guardians/caretakers/teachers (etc) as an overall look into the Spanish language is presented—how many types of Spanish, where, how many people speak it, and so forth. After this short intro, the book dives into the words.

The book is divided into themes ranging from animals to vegetables to travel to family and much more. Each two-page spread is decorated with various, illustrated items fitting to the theme. Underneath each one is the term in English and then (with fitting article) in Spanish.

My kids enjoyed flipping through and trying to pronounce the different words, and I'm sure they'll remember a few of their favorites. I was a little disappointed that there isn't a section on pronunciation or any help on this front, since a few of the letters are pronounced quite differently in Spanish than English. But it still lets young readers explore everyday words and enjoy letting the foreign language roll of their tongues. It won't teach them Spanish, but that's also not the goal. It opens them up to it in a fun way, and that's already a leap in the right direction.


And here she is...

Aurora Cacciapuoti is an author and illustrator of more than a dozen books, including Let's Learn Japanese. She lives in L'Aquila, Italy.

No comments:

Post a Comment